Carry On I Book Review #3

Carry On

“You were the sun, and I was crashing into you.”

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Rating: 5/5

Pages: 528

Official Synopsis:

Simon Snow just wants to relax and savor his last year at the Watford School of Magicks, but no one will let him. His girlfriend broke up with him, his best friend is a pest, and his mentor keeps trying to hide him away in the mountains where maybe he’ll be safe. Simon can’t even enjoy the fact that his roommate and longtime nemesis is missing, because he can’t stop worrying about the evil git. Plus there are ghosts. And vampires. And actual evil things trying to shut Simon down. When you’re the most powerful magician the world has ever known, you never get to relax and savor anything.

My Review:

It’s been a few hours and I still don’t think I am over this book. I was hesitant to pick this book up as I heard a lot of people describe this as a ‘fanfiction based on Harry Potter’ and that just didn’t appeal to me. But honestly I have no idea why that was the case, because I struggled to see how this could have been based on Harry Potter (the only similar aspect was literally magic in general which of course is not something created by the HP universe).

This book gripped me from the very start; Simon spent the first half of the book searching for his arch enemy which was just such an unusual aspect for me to read but it worked so well. The plot line was well thought out and unique, I hadn’t expected an author who had written predominantly written contemporary fiction to be so talented in writing a fantasy book!

The ending completely took me by surprise and was an interesting way to look at the whole concept of the Humdrum.  Although on the topic of the Humdrum, I could NOT take him seriously with a name like that, it was hilarious!

Rowell’s talent for writing relationships sure as hell was prevalent in this book! Snowbaz was amazingly written and well thought out, their relationship was quirky and cute, two things I love to see in a relationship.

Overall, this was a great read and an amazing introduction into Rainbow Rowell’s writing! I hope to get to her other books as soon as possible!

Leave a Reply

