The End I Book Review #5

The End

“If a wolf attacks his sheep, the shepard kills the wolf, but he eats the sheep when he’s hungry.”

The End by Charlie Higson

Rating: 5/5

Pages: 454

Official Synopsis:

It all comes to an end in the final book in The Enemy series The sickness struck everyone over fourteen. First it twisted their minds. Next it ravaged their bodies. Now they roam the streets – Crazed and hungry. Sickos swarm the streets of London. Gathered in the centre of the city, they lie in wait. The survivors have one final epic battle to overcome. Together they must work out a plan of attack and end the grown-ups reign of terror before it’s too late. The end is coming.

My Review:

I’m so sad that this series is over. I think the lowest I’ve ever rated a book in this series is a 3.5 which is a pretty good achievement for a lot of the books I’ve read. The fact that Higson has managed to uphold the standards and detail with each character despite the fact there is an impossibly large cast of characters in this series is impressive.

‘The End’ was certainly one of the best endings to a series I have ever read. The action was upheld throughout the book and didn’t cease once. What with all of the fighting and death I don’t think it would have been possible to find a boring part of this book. I certainly had favourite characters (Paddy and Achilleus have been my favourites for a few books now) but that didn’t really mean I disliked other characters which I sometimes see happening with so many people in one novel.

I think that Higson’s experience in the film and movie industry shone in his work. I know that it’s said a lot that an author’s writing helped them picture the story but this book transported me there. The sheer detail that went into making one of the world’s most famous and well known cities, London, his own was amazing.

For anyone looking for a good zombie or apocalypse book this is certainly a series I’d recommend and wish I could read all over again and experience the rushes of adrenaline I got anew.

One thought on “The End I Book Review #5

Leave a Reply

