Eleanor & Park I Review #8

Eleanor and Park

“If you can’t save your own life, is it even worth saving?”

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Rating: 4/5

Pages: 328

Official Synopsis:

Two misfits.

One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

My Review:

What do I say about this book?

Well I liked it enough to actually give it a four stars; I mean I really did like it! But I think there was just something missing which lost it that last star. The characters were well developed and the plot line well thought out and clear.

The main characters Eleanor & Park (obviously) were two teens who just didn’t fit in with their peers, especially in the 1980’s. Eleanor, the new girl, stuck out like a sore thumb while Park was the opposite he just blended into the crowd. As the two’s relationship grew you could see them balance each other out and develop as characters which I think has always been one of Rowell’s strong writing points.

Unlike some books the characters’ relationship took a realistic amount of time to grow and become comfortable. There were quirks and arguments in their relationship but the whole aspect of a relationship was still there. I think one of the reasons I really liked this book was for it’s realism.

My only problem with this book was the ending to be honest. I felt like it was thrown at you all at once and could have been explained a bit more with a few more chapters. I have a feeling that this was intentional; but I just don’t think it worked for me.

Nevertheless, it’s clear that Rainbow Rowell was the perfect author for the contemporary kick I’ve been in recently and I’m still really glad I read this as I did still fully enjoy it!

One thought on “Eleanor & Park I Review #8

Leave a Reply

