April Wrap Up!

April Book Haul 2016 Header.jpg

It’s time for my April Wrap Up! [My first one ^-^]

This month I was actually able to read quite a few books! I was so worried that because I was moving halfway through the holidays that would mean I would read less but it was actually the complete opposite; because I was moving I had no wifi for just over a week which meant I actually read loads!

Books I Read:

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (Review)

I gave this book a 5 stars; Rainbow Rowell’s writing never ceases to amaze me. The characters in this book were so relatable it got to the point I was trying to see how the main character was anything but like me! This was a funny and sweet read certainly something for any nerdy ‘fangirl’! (See what I did there?)

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children (Peculiar Children #1) by Ransom Riggs (Review)

I gave this book a 4 stars! I went into this book with extremely high expectations and it met most of them! I feel like it was a very original layout and story-line the main character was just a bit dry. This is a perfect read for people who enjoy horror; or who just find it hard to focus on reading for a long time!

The End (The Enemy #7) by Charlie Higson (Review)

The Enemy series is one of my favourite: all the adults are gone, zombie apocalypse-esque series that I’ve ever read. Therefore, I wasn’t surprised at all when I gave this book a 5 stars; this book is really a writing masterpiece in my opinion; it’s writing brings the phrase ‘paints a picture in the readers mind’ to life.

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness (Review)

This book was a re-read for me so I didn’t expect the rating to go down because the first time I read it I was absolutely stunned. This book was my first Patrick Ness and I got it at a signing; it didn’t fail to amaze me and got a 5 star rating! This book was just so overwhelmingly amazing to read again; I absolutely loved it!

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell (Review)

This book marked the end of my Rainbow Rowell book binge and unfortunately it was the only one of her full length books that got a four stars! I loved the plot; and I loved the characters; I loved everything about this book – until I read the end. The ending felt very rushed to me and I just didn’t like it… But this book was still an amazing book to read and certainly wasn’t at all a bad book.

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell (Review)

This short story released for World Book Day 2016 was unfortunately for me a book that I couldn’t bring myself to like very much. I liked the plot to a certain extent but overall it just gave a very shallow impression to me. I ended up giving it a 3.

Rock War (Rock War #1) by Robert Muchamore (Review)

I gave this book a four stars and with good reason! The writing was hilarious and I really liked the main character; but I absolutely detested the two secondary main characters they were stereotypical to the point I felt I’d read them somewhere else. This book is a great book to read when you’re in a bad mood and just want a laugh though!

Faceless by Alyssa Sheinmel (Review)

This book was an emotional roller coaster. It was a beautiful story about accepting yourself and learning to heal; and had just as amazing writing to match. Something to read on a rainy day; I guarantee this book will bring you tears and deserved all 5 stars it got!

Plague (Gone #4) by Michael Grant (Review)

This was an energetic and fast paced read which was a great choice to end a month of reading with! This series is amazing and certainly one I would recommend to anyone looking for a book that will make their heart race; I gave this book a four stars but only because I felt it didn’t compare to the likes of the first and second books in this series!

April Book Haul 2016 3

Books I obtained:

This month I had my birthday on the 19th and therefore ended up with quite a few books!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “April Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

