Rock War I Book Review #9

Rock War

“The biggest battle of their lives.”

Rock War by Robert Muchamore

Rating: 4/5

Pages: 375 

Official Synopsis:

Meet Jay. Summer. And Dylan.

Jay plays guitar, writes songs and dreams of being a rock star. But his ambitions are stifled by seven siblings and a terrible drummer.

Summer works hard at school, looks after her nan and has a one-in-a-million singing voice. But can her talent triumph over her nerves?

Dylan is happiest lying on his bunk smoking, but his school rugby coach has other ideas, and Dylan reluctantly joins a band to avoid crunching tackles and icy mud.
They’re about to enter the biggest battle of their lives. And there’s everything to play for.

My Review:

‘Rock War’ was really a book that I picked up on a whim. It was a good price, looked amusing and had a great cover. I had some hesitation as I hadn’t previously liked the C.H.E.R.U.B series by the same author; and it was the writing which I hadn’t liked in that and therefore was worried that would be reflected in these books. I was pleasantly surprised to find that this was indeed not the case.

We follow three different main characters in this book who each have their own different experiences and opinions on their music. All of them are in school bands and spend the majority of the book trying to perfect songs that they will one day perform at one of the biggest school age ‘battle of the bands’.

Jay, the first main character, was probably my favourite. He was funny and ambitious despite the struggles he dealt with, that accompanied being in a large family. Although quite a few problems came out of Jay’s strong passion for music that was probably his most defining quality in my opinion. All in all I think he was a pretty well written character.

Summer, on the other hand, I did not like at all. A lot of my thoughts on her were similar to my thoughts on the third main character Dylan. I felt that they were both extremely stereotypical characters on the whole. It felt like I had seen both characters before: one with a sick relative who she was responsible for, and one the rich kid who hated being rich. I just got tired of them after a while.

Overall, I think that this was a funny and light read and something that I extremely enjoyed reading just before my birthday!

 

 

One thought on “Rock War I Book Review #9

Leave a Reply

