The Assassin’s Blade I Book Review #12

The Assassin's Blade

“My name is Sam Cortland and I will not be afraid.”

The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas

Rating: 5/5

Pages: 430

Official Synopsis:

Celaena Sardothien owes her reputation to Arobynn Hamel. He gave her a home at the Assassins’ Guild and taught her the skills she needed to survive.

Arobynn’s enemies stretch far and wide – from Adarlan’s rooftops and its filthy dens, to remote islands and hostile deserts. Celaena is duty-bound to hunt them down. But behind her assignments lies a dark truth that will seal her fate – and cut her heart in two forever…

Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine and find out how the legend begins in the five page-turning prequel novellas to the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series.

My Review:

I didn’t really know anything about any of these novellas before going into this book. Obviously I had already read the four books that are current,y out in the Throne of Glass series; but otherwise nothing.

Before I started to read Queen of Shadows everyone told me to read the novellas first because otherwise I wouldn’t understand as much in QOS; however at the time I was reading QOS I took a risk and read it anyway. I found that I didn’t think that I found anything hard to understand or lacking in detail and therefore assumed that everyone had just exaggerated the novellas’ importance. But man was I wrong.

As soon as I finished this book I realized just how much more I could have gotten out of Queen of Shadows by reading it after this; missing pieces which I didn’t even know existed slotted into place. Each and every novella was so rich and detailed and just had so much story it was to be honest unlike anything I’ve ever read before.

My favourite novella was probably the Assassin and the Desert; I loved the setting of the desert and the way that the two Assassin’s Keeps differed in such different ways. Although to be completely honest it was pretty hard to pick a favourite as every novella was amazing in its own way.

I’m so happy I finally got around to reading this, and seriously READ THIS BEFORE QUEEN OF SHADOWS.

One thought on “The Assassin’s Blade I Book Review #12

Leave a Reply

