The Hidden Oracle I Book Review #14

The Hidden Oracle

“Showers are good. Perhaps not as good as bacon, but good.”

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

Rating: 4/5

Pages: 384

Official Synopsis:

How do you punish an immortal?

By making him human.

After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disorientated, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favour.

But Apollo has many enemies – gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.

Review:

So I started to read this at the same time as A Court of Mist and Fury; but I ended up putting it down after a chapter because I felt that the two books contrasted so much it would confuse me. And I’m so happy that I did, because looking back now it really would have.

As a huge fan of Rick Riordan I’ve been looking forward to this book for months now! His writing style is always rich with realistic humour and never fails to make me smile; and seriously that showed in this book.

The main character Lester Papadopolous (seriously that name is a mouthful) is literally Apollo in mortal form. He was everything someone would expect from Apollo if based off Riordan’s previous books: sarcastic, egotistic and very big-headed. However, you could see the character development in this book very clearly as you could hear Apollo’s internal dialogue slowly mellowing out and realising that yes Apollo is not always going to be the center of attention.

As this series is aimed predominantly at middle – grade readers I really liked how Riordan explained a lot of the situations that face teens today and simplified them a bit to make sense. For example his explanation of how an Apollo cabin member (I forget his name) could have two dads; or how sometimes not being the most important person has to be something you learn to deal with in everyday life.

Overall, I feel this book was everything that I expected from a Rick Riordan read! I think the only reason it got a 4 stars is because it felt slightly repetitive at times; and I feel that with so many books out it’s probably time he wrote a series with a predominantly female character as main – I mean yes the Kane Chronicles is mainly based around Sadie but she does share a lot of that spotlight. Otherwise this was a great read and I can’t wait for the next one!

2 thoughts on “The Hidden Oracle I Book Review #14

Leave a Reply

