The Foxhole Court I Book Review #15

The Foxhole Court

“Hope was a dangerous, disquieting thing, but he thought perhaps he liked it.”

The Foxhole Court by Nora Sakavic

Rating: 4.5/5

Pages: 273

Official Synopsis:

Neil Josten is the newest addition to the Palmetto State University Exy team. He’s short, he’s fast, he’s got a ton of potential—and he’s the runaway son of the murderous crime lord known as The Butcher.

Signing a contract with the PSU Foxes is the last thing a guy like Neil should do. The team is high profile and he doesn’t need sports crews broadcasting pictures of his face around the nation. His lies will hold up only so long under this kind of scrutiny and the truth will get him killed.

But Neil’s not the only one with secrets on the team. One of Neil’s new teammates is a friend from his old life, and Neil can’t walk away from him a second time. Neil has survived the last eight years by running. Maybe he’s finally found someone and something worth fighting for.

Review:

I am one of the least sport people I know. Seriously, anything that includes strenuous exercise is a total no go zone for me; so when I first saw this book I cast it aside as something that I would dislike and find boring. I mean I never liked sports and didn’t think a book would make that any better for me. But I was so mistaken.

This book, in my opinion, has some of the best written characters I have ever read. It’s difficult to develop a good back story and personality for one character; let alone a group of them. Nevertheless, Nora Sakavic made it clear that she certainly did not have this problem.

The main character, Neil, was not the most original character if I do say so myself but he certainly was a twist one tropes that I read a lot. Neil is on the run, and always has been. He is someone who does not trust easily but cares too much and I think that was shown very well.

The ‘Foxhole’ team was a very puzzling group to read about. You have Kevin, who is very angry a lot of the time but equally as talented. Nicky, Aaron and Andrew the cousins who – well they contrast quite a bit. Aaron is probably the least focused on in this book so he was a very basic character overall but one thing was made clear – and that was the hate he felt towards his twin Andrew. Nicky was funny, flirtatious and just full of fun; yes he had his serious times but he was what really bought a lot of the lighter bits of this book to life.

We then come onto Andrew. Andrew was by far my favourite character throughout this whole book. I’ve never read about someone like Andrew and I think that’s what really clicked with me. He was a fresh face. Yes – mentally unstable and with highly violent tendencies but he was still shown as so much more. Despite his faults Sakavic was sure to show his caring side – what with everything that he does for Kevin and Neil in this book he was probably the person who cared the most throughout this book.

I think my only fault with this book was the sport concept. At first I thought it was just my bias towards disliking sport but I feel if the author had used a sport that already existed she would have had a much easier time developing on the plot line and such. ‘Exy’ just seemed very undeveloped and fell flat for me.

Overall though I have to say this was an amazing read which I DID complete in one sitting as it is quite a short novel. Slightly confusing at times yes, but still a fun fast read which I feel is an amazing start to a trilogy which I hope just gets better!

One thought on “The Foxhole Court I Book Review #15

Leave a Reply

