May Wrap Up!

May Wrap Up

It’s time for my May wrap up! (at last!)

I’m sure a lot of you know that this month was one of the most popular months for new releases! I tried my best to try to make my TBR pile smaller and only buy new releases that I really anticipated but that failed and I ended up buying quite a few books…

Books I Read:

The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass #0.1 – 0.5) by Sarah J Maas (Review)

Despite the fact that I didn’t read this between the correct books – the 3rd and 4th – I still absolutely loved this! Novellas are always much easier to lose track of, and therefore get lower ratings because of the varying stories but I think that this was one of the best novella compilations I’ve ever read!

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J Maas (Review)

One of my most anticipated releases of this year; I had sky-high expectations for this book… And it met each and every one of them! The characters and plot in this book are so rich and detailed; this is a great read for any fan of fantasy!

The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo #1) by Rick Riordan (Review)

Another one of my most anticipated releases of this year; this book met most of those but not all… I think that as someone who has read all of Rick Riordan’s books this lacked a tiny bit as a book from him, but otherwise this was just as funny and relatable as his other reads!

The Foxhole Court (All For the Game #1) by Nora Sakavic (Review)

I picked up this book on a whim really. I mean it was free on e-book so I thought why not? I feel like I don’t read a lot of indie authors and honestly I have no idea why because this book was phenomenal! Sakavic has some of the best written characters I have ever read about and really the only aspect of this book I found to be at all lacking was the concept of building a new sport but nevertheless this book was brilliant!

Boot Camp (Rock War #2) by Robert Muchamore (Review)

Unfortunately I wasn’t the biggest fan of this book at all. I found the characters boring, the plot extremely repetitive and the writing extremely slow-paced. This book reminded me as to why I didn’t like the C.H.E.R.U.B series at all. I think that this book’s writing just wasn’t for me…

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys (Review)

This book was phenomenal. It was heart wrenching, truthful and beautifully written. This book got a 5 stars and it really does deserve it. Sepetys found a way to portray one of the most tragic events of World War II and make it into something so intricately written and told. I hope to read another one of this author’s books soon because she seriously has an amazing talent for writing.

Hollow City (Peculiar Children #2) by Ransom Riggs (Review)

I think the most important thing about this book was that I preferred it a lot more than the first. I have seen reviews where people say this was very ‘second bookish’ and was just a lot of info dumping but I feel it was very well set out and personally loved it!


Books I obtained:

I didn’t buy a lot more books this month; a couple were pre-orders and I won one in a giveaway!

Fun Stuff:

  • I made an Instagram – an.ink.utopia
  • I received my first ever Illumicrate!
  • I won a giveaway hosted by bookishbells.tumblr.com!
  • I created a blog dedicated to all things Shadowhunter: so from TMI, TID, TDA and Shadowhunters! It’s called kitblckthorn.tumblr.com I’m really proud of it so far and it would great if you guys could follow me on it! (p.s. it’s a sideblog)

What did you guys do in May? Anything exciting? Tell me below if you did; I’d love to find out!

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “May Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

