The Martian I Book Review #19

The Martian“Yes, of course duct tape works in a near-vacuum. Duct tape works anywhere. Duct tape is magic and should be worshiped.”

The Martian by Mark Watney

Rating: 4/5

Pages: 387


Official Synopsis:

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars.

Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm forces his crew to evacuate the planet while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded on Mars’s surface, with no way to signal Earth that he’s alive. And even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone years before a rescue could arrive.

Chances are, though, Mark won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first.

Armed with nothing but his ingenuity, his engineering skills–and a gallows sense of humor that proves to be his greatest source of strength–Mark embarks on a dogged quest to stay alive. But will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?

My Review:

Let me start this by saying that I wholeheartedly believe this book is worthy of five stars and if it were possible more; everything that is found in a good sci-fi novel was found in this and more.

This was a witty survival novel with no lack of suspense and thrill. Andy Weir staggered climactic events throughout the book in such a way that as soon as I started to think that things might start to be going okay everything fell apart and yet again; the main character: Mark Watney was in some sort of life endangering situation.

Mark Watney has to be one of the most hilarious characters I have ever read about. His stupid jokes and quirky outlook on his dire situation bought so much life to a book which could have been written as a horror novel.

As I stated at the beginning, I fully believe this book deserves a five stars: the writing was hooking; characters detailed and unique; the plot adrenaline filled and exciting. However, I found one problem in the book which unfortunately continued throughout the whole novel. At times it really did seem like the author was over explaining the more scientific parts of the book to the point it got frustrating because I did not understand a word being said and because it was so frequent it took me a lot longer to read this book so I could Google what a lot of things meant. Of course this was not necessary but I always feel it’s best to know what’s going on in a book and take longer reading it than continue without understanding things.

All in all I think this was a great read and one that I thoroughly enjoyed. Another upside to finally reading this is that I can now watch the movie which I’ve had to refrain from since it came out last year!

One thought on “The Martian I Book Review #19

Leave a Reply

