The Last Star I Book Review #21

The Last Star

“Love is forever. If it wasn’t, it wouldn’t be love. The world is beautiful. If it wasn’t, it wouldn’t be the world.”

The Last Star by Rick Yancey

Rating: 3/5

Pages: 338

Official Synopsis:

The enemy is Other. The enemy is us.

They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human.

Review:

This book… I had heard quite mixed feelings about this book before I finally got round to it and I actually considered not reading it but I really wanted closure on the last book because I actually quite liked the Infinite Sea. Despite the fact that I liked the last book I can’t really say the same for the Last Star.

The first 200/250 pages flew right by me. I didn’t understand a lot of it; the plot was all haywire and the writing seemed alien (puns am I right) to me. I found that the plot dragged on for too long which meant I started to skip complete paragraphs and pages because I couldn’t find it in myself to read every individual word.

On the other hand, I did much prefer a lot of the characters in this book compared to the Infinite Sea. I’m not going to go on about how much Cassie annoyed me because I instead want to focus on the positive. The twist on Ringer’s character in this book I think was amazing; she was one of the strongest and believing characters that there were and to see some of that turned back on her was something I did not expect to see at all. Evan’s ending also extremely satisfied me because I liked the new perspective towards the end instead of his endless whining about Cassie.

Overall, I think that I may have been slightly generous with this rating because it got bumped up a star because I did actually enjoy the last 50 or so pages. Although, I still didn’t really understand what happened at the end and to be honest would appreciate it if someone could tell me in a bit more detail as I’ve already forgotten!

One thought on “The Last Star I Book Review #21

Leave a Reply

