Top 5 Wednesdays – Favourite Father Figures

 

Top 5 Wednesdays.jpg
It’s Wednesday again which means this is when I bring you guys the Top 5 Wednesdays, created by gingerreadslainey. You can find out more about these days on the Goodreads group by clicking here! There aren’t a lot of books that focus a lot on child/parent relationships and more so with father’s; so I think this week is going to be a bit harder than usual!

Here are my picks for this week!

1. Sirius Black – Harry Potter by J.K.Rowling

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

I was going to choose Arthur Weasley initially for this Top 5 but then I looked up at my shelf and saw ‘The Prisoner of Azkaban’. Yes, Arthur is amazing but Sirius is… Well, he’s Sirius. Despite the fact that he’d been imprisoned for nearly 13 years as soon as he got out of Azkaban his first priority was to look after his Godson. Until… Well… Let’s not think about THAT.

2. Luke – The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

City of Bones

I LOVE LUKE SO MUCH. I mean come on. He had to pretend to know absolutely nothing about the shadow world while Clary still didn’t know anything. When Jocelyn went missing he didn’t up and take off leaving Clary alone, he made sure she was okay and helped with the search. Luke is just one of the best father figures I’ve read about.

3. Desmond Edgley – Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy

Skulduggery Pleasant

Despite the fact that I don’t remember Valkyrie’s father with that much clarity I do remember that he was ridiculously crazy. With his older brother being the more the ‘serious’ one; Desmond was left with all the humor I guess. (and used it many a time to annoy Valkyrie which was great!)

4. Paul Blofis – Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

The Lightning Thief

Anyone who has read the PJO series knows just how much everyone loves Paul. I mean he’s Percy’s teacher which makes for loads of awkward moments that I love to read about!

5. Sam Quintana – Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secret’s of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Sam Quintana… I have so much to say about him. He was the more lenient of Dante’s parents and just such an all round nice character. He was funny, accepting and caring; everything you’d want in a parent!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

