The Dream Thieves I Review #23

The Dream Thieves

“The raven king, make way for the raven king.”

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Steifvater

Rating: 4/5

Pages: 437

Official Synopsis:

If you could steal things from dreams, what would you take?

Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself.

One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams.

And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things.

Ronan is one of the raven boys – a group of friends, practically brothers, searching for a dead king named Glendower, who they think is hidden somewhere in the hills by their elite private school, Aglionby Academy. The path to Glendower has long lived as an undercurrent beneath town. But now, like Ronan’s secrets, it is beginning to rise to the surface—changing everything in its wake.

Review:

The Dream Thieves was a sequel that certainly did not have the second book slump. So this book picked up right where ‘The Raven Boys’ left off; with Gansey still avidly searching for Glendower, Blue trying to hide her biggest secret and Ronan still as mysterious as ever.

Characterwise, I feel this book was very Ronan-centric which I actually really liked. In the first book all the basic information about Ronan was given leaving all the important facts in the shadows – which obviously made me want to know so much more about him. In this book Ronan evolved so much as a character; different sides of him were introduced and his back story was explained in much further detail.

Despite the fact that there wasn’t too much about Glendower and Gansey’s search in this book I feel that there was just enough to make me feel that something big was going to happen and encourage me to read the next book sooner. I feel that Noah could have been expanded a bit more on during the length of this book but I feel that the lack of him in this book was not too detrimental to the plotline.

The introduction of the Gray Man was an addition that I really appreciated. In a lot of books the introduction of someone attempting to date a single parent usually results in their child hating said partner. But Blue took the time to actually find out more about the Gray Man and prioritized her mother’s feelings over any feelings of doubt she may have had which I think is something a lot more books need to have.

Overall, I feel that although this book didn’t completely wow me – it was enough to keep me hooked and wanting to read the next book as soon as possible. I feel that despite this book being a lot more character driven the next two books will hopefully focus more on the plot and finally finding Glendower.

One thought on “The Dream Thieves I Review #23

Leave a Reply

