Vicious I Review #24

Vicious

“We’re all monsters; but so are you.”

Vicious by V.E.Schwab

Rating: 5 (100)/5

Pages: 364

Official Synopsis:

Victor and Eli started out as college roommates—brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong. Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find—aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge—but who will be left alive at the end?

Review:

This book. I have no idea why I sound so surprised because this is my second time reading ‘Vicious’.

The first time I read this book I was 10 and I had just gotten an iTunes gift card which I was ecstatic about because there was a book I’d really wanted (which I’ve now forgotten about) but couldn’t afford to buy the hard copy of – but to mu dismay it was £1 too expensive so instead I went on an interesting book search. I came across a lot of books – and I mean a lot, surprisingly I remember skimming over the likes of Divergent and the Hunger games until my eyes landed on the cover of Vicious I immediately fell in love and my impulsive ten-year old heart clicked the buy button.

I was a very slow reader back then but I remember flying through this book – I went out for dinner the night I bought this book and I hid my iPad underneath my top and read underneath the table for the whole of dinner time (my parents probably noticed and didn’t say anything!).

But anyway, back to the present – I just felt the need to express my love for this book. The writing is phenomenal and this is one of the most intriguing books I have ever read. The plot and premise are cleverly thought out and unique – the characters more so.

Victor – the main character – has a sadistic sort of personality, I mean with the ability to control pain this sort of trait does seem appropriate. He kept me hooked throughout the whole of this novel – his dialogue made adrenaline rush through my veins and my heart beat faster. This book is honestly completely and utterly phenomenal and there is literally no reason anyone should not have read it!

Leave a Reply

