Top 5 Wednesdays – Books You Feel Different About

2. August 2016

It’s Wednesday again which means this is when I bring you guys the Top 5 Wednesdays, created by gingerreadslainey. You can find out more about these days on the Goodreads group by clicking here! This should be a pretty easy one for me because my opinion on books I’ve previously read changes all of the time!

  • The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

City of Bones

When I initially read this series I loved it! I still do extremely like it but recently I’ve come to realize that a lot of the things that went on throughout this series were not needed or outright creepy. For example the whole incest complex which was expanded on with Sebastian I could ignore when I was younger but now I realize that was a part of this book that literally had no reason to be included at all.

  • The Last Star by Rick Yancey

The Last Star

If I remember correctly I think I rated this book a 3 stars. I read this in May/June but when I finished reviewing it and my review was up I realized that I thought I’d been a bit lenient with it and to be completely honest think I should have given it a two stars.

  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the UniverseThe first time I read this book I fell in love. I automatically rated it a 5 stars ( I would’ve given it more if I could have) and started to re-read it! I’ve already re-read this book three times this year and honestly every single time I love it even more – this isn’t really me realizing that I didn’t give it enough credit but just discovering more and more amazing lines and writing every time I read it!

  • The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Girl on the Train

I was shocked to receive this for my 12th birthday because I really hadn’t read any adult fiction by then apart from Vicious. I remember reading the first chapter and absolutely hating it – the writing confused me and the main character was the most annoying person I’d ever read about up till that point in my life. A few months later however I tried to read it again and I pushed through the first few confusing chapters and ended up rating it a four stars!

  • Divergent by Veronica Roth

Divergent

This was one of the first YA series I’d ever read. At the time I read it I really loved it – and to be completely honest I still feel the same way about the first book in the series. I distinctly remember really enjoying the last book as well but I recently re-read it and looking back I really don’t understand how my younger self didn’t get frustrated with the pace of the plot and Four’s POV because both were extremely annoying!

Leave a Reply

