Top 5 Wednesdays – Favourite First Lines

2. August 2016

It’s Wednesday again which means this is when I bring you guys the Top 5 Wednesdays, created by gingerreadslainey. You can find out more about these days on the Goodreads group by clicking here! As I’m currently on holiday this was much harder because I actually only brought three books with me and only planned on buying e-books if needed but I’ll have to get them anyway it seems! ^-^

  • “Mr. and Mrs. Dursley of number four, Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much.” – Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

The first line to my all time favourite series ever. After all – such an amazingly magical universe must need a magical first line and that’s just what this first line is. Magical.

  • “The world is a clock winding down.” – The Infinite Sea

The Infinite Sea

Despite the fact I really wasn’t a big fan of this book I have to give it to Rick Yancey for such a beautiful first line. Although it sounds poetic and calming let me assure you this book is anything but.

  • “I had just come to accept that my life would be ordinary when extraordinary things began to happen.” – Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children

 

I remember randomly picking up this book and immediately buying it after only reading this first line. It was so encompassing unusual and refreshingly unique that I knew I would come to love this book and eventually (when I found out) love the series!

  • “Blue Sargent had forgotten how many times she’d been told that she would kill her true love.” – The Raven Boys

The Raven Boys
Seriously guys. Just read this line and mull it over – it was just such a weird concept when I first started reading this book again I knew I was going to love it. It brings up so many questions – and with me having only read up to the second book a lot of those are still unanswered. How does she know who her true love is? What if she kisses them before they’re in love? What would constitute as a ‘true’ love? I don’t know but hey that’s the point of a good first line – to draw you in.

  • “One summer night I fell asleep, hoping the world would be different when I woke.” – Aristotle and Dante Discover The Secrets of the Universe

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Seriously guys any post of mine talking about good writing or good lines or basically anything good in a book is going to include Ari and Dante. This was one of the most beautifully written books I’ve ever read and it’s opening line is a perfect example of just how beautiful the writing throughout the rest of this phenomenal novel is.

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesdays – Favourite First Lines

Leave a Reply

