Top 5 Wednesdays – Books I’ll Never Read

2. August 2016

It’s Wednesday again which means this is when I bring you guys the Top 5 Wednesdays, created by gingerreadslainey. You can find out more about these days on the Goodreads group by clicking here! I don’t tend to completely bar books from myself but these are books I’m pretty sure I have no interest in whatsoever and probably won’t ever read.

  • Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Me Before You

First and foremost I really am not a huge fan of romance novels – before any of my friends had read this book it hadn’t really piqued my interest anyway. However, after a few of my friends, whose judgments I do trust read this book a lot of them came back talking about some of the ableist undertones in this book which sort of put me off. Of course if you have a different opinion please let me know because I may reconsider!

  • Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

Twilight

I just don’t really like wolf/vampire settings. It really annoys me and feels so overused by now I just don’t think I could read this. I also read the first chapter of Twilight (if not more) and remember finding it extremely boring at the time. (Also what’s up with the whole fully grown man having a crush on a baby please someone explain!)

  • The Selection Series by Kiera Cass

The Selection

As much as I can appreciate the amazing covers to this series the plot honestly sounds like something I would just outright find boring. I have heard amazing things about this series but I’ve also heard a lot of bad and apparently the main character is really annoying and honestly I can’t deal with annoying main characters.

  • Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna and the French Kiss

Again contemporary romance isn’t really my forte. I have heard a lot of amazing reviews for this book and series but it didn’t really interest me a lot and then my best friend read it and she really disliked it so therefore I probably wouldn’t like it either as we have very similar tastes in books and she knows what I like very well.

  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

Ender's Game

I feel like if you’ve been around booktube/bookstagram/book blogging you’ve probably heard about the controversy surrounding Orson Scott Card. Controversially I do tend to follow the “don’t associate the art with the artist” approach but in this situation it’s very hard to ignore the fact that this man is just outright not accepting and very forward about it as well – and frankly I find it disgusting.

 

Leave a Reply

