The Raven King I Review #29

“You can’t cut down someone who’s already in the gutter.”

The Raven King

More Happy Than Not

Title: The Raven King

Author: Nora Sakavic

Pages: 316

Publisher: Self Published

Official Synopsis

The Foxes are a fractured mess, but their latest disaster might be the miracle they’ve always needed to come together as a team. The one person standing in their way is Andrew, and the only one who can break through his personal barriers is Neil.

Except Andrew doesn’t give up anything for free and Neil is terrible at trusting anyone but himself. The two don’t have much time to come to terms with their situation before outside forces start tearing them apart. Riko is intent on destroying Neil’s fragile new life, and the Foxes have just become collateral damage.

Neil’s days are numbered, but he’s learning the hard way to go down fighting for what he believes in, and Neil believes in Andrew even if Andrew won’t believe in himself.

Review

I don’t think I’d have ever thought I would love this complete mess of dysfunctional foxes more than I already did in the first book.

I was worried when I started the Raven King because I found it hard to get really into the story for the first thirty pages or so – but I think that was just because it took time for me to remember everything from the last book as I had read it a few months ago.

The Raven King, if anything, was a huge improvement on the Foxhole Court (despite the fact it was an amazing book). The one thing I’d had a problem with in the last book was the whole concept of Exy. I felt it had been slightly underdeveloped and not really explained properly as such a major concept in this series – but luckily I found this to no be a problem whatsoever in the sequel.

The Raven King did well in tying up, or in some cases starting to, loose ends from the last novel and explaining Exy in much further detail which I really enjoyed. It took a much deeper look into Neil and Kevin’s back stories and all in all was an extremely satisfying read and one that I loved!

Leave a Reply

