Proxy I Review #31

“Honesty was its own kind of peace.”

Proxy]

proxy

Title: Proxy

Author: Alex London

Pages: 384

Publisher: Philomel Books

 Official Synopsis

Knox was born into one of the City’s wealthiest families. A Patron, he has everything a boy could possibly want—the latest tech, the coolest clothes, and a Proxy to take all his punishments. When Knox breaks a vase, Syd is beaten. When Knox plays a practical joke, Syd is forced to haul rocks. And when Knox crashes a car, killing one of his friends, Syd is branded and sentenced to death.

Syd is a Proxy. His life is not his own.

Then again, neither is Knox’s. Knox and Syd have more in common than either would guess. So when Knox and Syd realize that the only way to beat the system is to save each other, they flee. Yet Knox’s father is no ordinary Patron, and Syd is no ordinary Proxy. The ensuing cross-country chase will uncover a secret society of rebels, test both boys’ resolve, and shine a blinding light onto a world of those who owe and those who pay. Some debts, it turns out, cannot be repaid.

Review

The end of this book completely ruined me. And when I say ruined I honestly mean it.

‘Proxy’ is based in a dystopian America where the rich and powerful ‘Patrons’ pay for lower class ‘Proxys’ to endure any punishment a Patron may earn for themselves. Syd, the main character in this book, has grown up with punishments being somewhat of a constant to him. His Patron, Knox, is both troublesome and apparently oblivious to all of the pain he causes to his Proxy.

I was unsure going into this book for some reason – I feel it may have been my bad track record with dystopian books or maybe it was just the fact that I had absolutely no idea what this book was about. Either way I’m pretty happy I did end up reading it now because this book truly was something else.

The plot and storyline of this book is something that I don’t think I’ve ever read in another novel. I mean of course I’d read the ‘corrupted government’ and ‘tech central’ dystopians which both play a part in this book but the whole concept of ‘Proxys and Patrons’ was something I’d never read before and found to be both a very well thought out concept and a system that I really enjoyed reading about.

Syd was probably one of my favourite characters in this book. He spent most of his time either studying to get out of all his debt as a Proxy or helping what most considered to be ‘charity cases’. Starting off the book as such an innocent and ultimately selfless character gave a lot of opportunity to grow and develop which was clear in Alex London’s writing. Syd’s personality and outlook on life in general changes a lot throughout the book, but it never felt like I was reading a different character, it was always Syd.

Knox was certainly another favourite of mine – I always enjoy reading the careless and supposedly unfeeling guy who ends up on the run and is a bit of a mess throughout the whole story. He was pretty much the complete opposite to Syd which was a nice contrast – and it didn’t hurt that he made me laugh a lot throughout. (Until the end where that plot twist happened and I wanted to cry/scream)

Unfortunately I didn’t like the third ‘main character’ Marie – she was unimaginably annoying and frustrated me throughout the majority of this book. I didn’t dock a star for her though because I certainly didn’t think it was a question of the writing – more the fact that her character just wasn’t for me.

I honestly can’t wait to get onto the next book because I loved this book so much and think this series has a very large area it can expand and develop into!

2 thoughts on “Proxy I Review #31

Leave a Reply

