Guardian I Review #32

“I’d burn the world down if it would make you smile”

Guardian by Alex London

proxy

Title: Guardian

Author: Alex London

Pages: 352

Publisher: Philomel Books

 Official Synopsis

The pulse-pounding sequel to Proxy! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

In the new world led by the Rebooters, former Proxy Syd is the figurehead of the Revolution, beloved by some and hated by others. Liam, a seventeen-year-old Rebooter, is Syd’s bodyguard and must protect him with his life. But armed Machinists aren’t the only danger.

People are falling ill—their veins show through their skin, they find it hard to speak, and sores erupt all over their bodies. Guardians, the violent enforcers of the old system, are hit first, and the government does nothing to help. The old elites fall next, and in the face of an indifferent government, Syd decides it’s up to him to find a cure . . . and what he discovers leaves him stunned.

This heart-stopping thriller is packed with action, adventure, and heroics. Guardian will leave you breathless until the final page.

A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship—just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz’s Alex Rider series, James Dashner’s Maze Runner, Patrick Ness’s Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy will be swept away by this story.

Review

Guardian as a whole was as much of an amazing book as the first book in this series. It’s world building, characterisation and plot stayed strong and true to the story throughout the whole novel and satisfied my thirst for more adventure very well.

We are introduced to a few new characters in ‘Guardian’ the most prevalent and significant one being Liam. Liam’s sole purpose at the beginning of the book is to be Syd’s bodyguard and protect him from the harm of the rebels called the ‘Machinists’ or just people who generally dislike him. I think my favourite part about Liam was his relationship with Syd from the beginning of the book which at first seemed very unexpected and random; and despite the fact that I thought it could have been expanded on a lot more, it still left me with a smile on my face.

Marie, was the biggest surprise to me in this book. I really disliked her character in the first book because I found her extremely annoying and frustrating but hat changed a lot in this book. Her character developed a lot from what was once a young girl with dreams that seamed unfeasible. Instead she came off as a very strong and intelligent Pacifier, which compared to the likes of Finch was something we all needed to see.

The whole infection concept was amazingly written in this book. In a lot of books we never see the repercussions of the main characters actions, or if they are looked at they’re glazed over because there’s no need to see the bad side to a predominantly positive event in their opinion. But in this book despite fact Syd succeeded in his task in the previous book the repercussions created this infection. All of these people had grown so used to the biodata flowing in them what were they to do without it now it was gone? Their bodies had adapted and now they had to adapt to something completely new which in turn of course started to kill them slowly.

I’m not sure if there’s a sequel to Guardian because it was written back in 2014 and I still haven’t heard of a sequel being written or released but I really hope there is. The way this book left off did feel a lot more like the end to a second book not a finale and therefore I really do hope there’s more to come!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s