Top 5 Wednesdays – Gateway Books: Fantasy

3-september-2016

It’s Wednesday again which means this is when I bring you guys the Top 5 Wednesdays, created by gingerreadslainey. You can find out more about these days on the Goodreads group by clicking here! I think I read too much fantasy so this week should be an easy one!

  • Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

throne-of-glass

I think this would be an amazing book to start off anyone’s ventures into Fantasy YA. It has enough world building and unique customs and people to be something that I found extremely refreshing and fun to read – but it still strays far away from what I would consider High Fantasy which would be something I would have found very hard to read as a beginner!

  • The Young Elites by Marie Lu

the-young-elites

The Young Elites is a fantasy novel I would say is very character driven. The fantasy world – despite being on I extremely enjoy to read about – isn’t one that needs a lot of determination or memory to remember about. Remembering character traits is something you do with any book so honestly this book is a 2 in 1. Fun and not insanely demanding to read!

  • Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

red-queen

Although I admit I wasn’t the biggest fan of Red Queen I still did enjoy it (I gave it a 3 stars). I feel like especially if you’re not that accustomed to reading fantasy as a common genre then this book would be very good for getting you introduced to different types of magic and world building. Despite not being the biggest fan of this book one of the things it did have going for it was that it was very consistently and well paced which I think helped a lot to get me accustomed to different settings in the story.

  • City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

city-of-bones

City of Bones is an Urban Fantasy novel with what I would consider one of the simplest types of world building I’ve ever seen. World building always tends to be the problem when reading Fantasy novels because at times (especially with High Fantasy) it can be a struggle to try to remember all of the different details needed to understand the book. Trust me on this though – this book is the complete opposite. (Not in a bad way at all though!)

  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K.Rowling

harry-potter-and-the-philosophers-stone

The way this series is written just allows you to absorb everything at a very nice and steady pace throughout the series. Not everything is thrown at you all at once because the best thing is that the main character has no idea about anything in the Wizarding World either. As a young girl I loved the way this world was built and I still do – and found to be the inspiration behind many a short story by my younger self. Honestly, this story is magical and an excellent sure-fire way to start your venture into Fantasy or in this case Urban Fantasy

Leave a Reply

