Captive Prince I Review #33

“It was like watching a man smile as he surrendered himself to drown in deep water.”

captive-prince

captive-prince

Title: Captive Prince

Author: C.S.Pacat

Pages: 289

Publisher: Berkley

 Official Synopsis

Damen is a warrior hero to his people, and the rightful heir to the throne of Akielos. But when his half brother seizes power, Damen is captured, stripped of his identity, and sent to serve the prince of an enemy nation as a pleasure slave.

Beautiful, manipulative, and deadly, his new master, Prince Laurent, epitomizes the worst of the court at Vere. But in the lethal political web of the Veretian court, nothing is as it seems, and when Damen finds himself caught up in a play for the throne, he must work together with Laurent to survive and save his country.

For Damen, there is just one rule: never, ever reveal his true identity. Because the one man Damen needs is the one man who has more reason to hate him than anyone else…

 

Review

I went into this book knowing only one thing and that being that this included some sort of slave trade that was at times sexual. I wasn’t very sure about this theme going into this book but it turned out to be a plot that was much deeper and well thought out than I had anticipated it to be. This book certainly didn’t have some sort of sex on every other page which was something I appreciated because that wouldn’t have left a lot of room for other plot lines!

I initially found it extremely hard to get into this book and for the first 50 pages or so I didn’t understand a lot of the things going on because of how the story began. There was a lot of info dumping but I guarantee that around the 50 page mark a lot of things picked up.

For one we got to explore a lot more into the two main character’s personalities as at the beginning they did come off as very generic and superficial. However as the plot continued to thicken so did the story surrounding the characters. Relationships between others developed and a lot more information was introduced and explained.

I think that the reason I gave this book a 3.5 stars instead of four was the writing style. Trust me – it’s clear that C.S.Pacat has a lot of experience and skill when it comes to writing but I feel like it just wasn’t for me.

Either way I think that the plot for the next book sounds extremely promising and the characters have certainly intrigued me enough to continue on with this series sometimes soon!

 

One thought on “Captive Prince I Review #33

Leave a Reply

