Empire of Storms I Review #34

“The world will be saved and remade by the dreamers.”

empire-of-thrones-us

empire-of-storms

Title: Empire of Storms

Author: Sarah J Maas

Pages: 693

Publisher: Bloomsbury

 

OFFICIAL SYNOPSIS

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

REVIEW

Empire of Storms was a book that took my heart and shattered it. I still don’t think it’s been fixed yet – a day after I’ve finished this book and I’m still in a book induced state of elation. This book was phenomenal.

As you near the end to a series there’s always that pressure on a book to live up to – or even beat – the expectations of the previous book. Because when a long series starts to go downhill that starts to push away readers; but let me assure you I personally am under the opinion that this has never happened to Sarah J Maas and probably never will.

The thing with reading a book where the author has never actually completed the series before is that you honestly don’t know what’s going to happen nearer to the end. You can’t cross compare different endings and try to predict because there’s nothing to compare to and that’s what made this book so completely and utterly frustrating (in a good way) – because I just could never figure out what was going to happen next.

I know some people will disagree but when someone next asks me for a series with good character arcs I will offer the Throne of Glass series because although I admit it wasn’t apparent to me in the previous books now I’m on the 5th book and looking back to the 1st I can see just how much all of the characters I know and love have changed. There are still exciting and unusual new things to learn about each and every one of them – and let me tell you some of the ones in this book are shocking.

We started to see all of the small side quests and characters that Aelin and her Court have met throughout the stories – who at the time when they were introduced didn’t seem to be all that important to the plot and line and a lot of them faded out as the series continued. But to my surprise as I carried on throughout Empire of Storms I could see all those small sub-plots I once deemed irrelevant tying together to create the bigger picture – a much bigger picture.

Despite being so close to the end there is still so much more I want to see in this world and I hope beyond hope that the next book is just as amazing as this one because it’s honestly books like these – filled with magic, and diversity, and love – that put a smile on my face and enable me to love my small (big) world of reading just that much more.

 

One thought on “Empire of Storms I Review #34

Leave a Reply

