Top 5 Wednesdays – Books That Took You The Longest To Finish Them

4-october-2016

It’s Wednesday again which means this is when I bring you guys the Top 5 Wednesdays, created by gingerreadslainey. You can find out more about these days on the Goodreads group by clicking here! I love this week’s prompt – it gives me a chance to give excuses about my ridiculously long reading times sometimes!

  • We Were Liars by Emery Lord

when-we-collided

If I remember correctly this book took me about the whole month of July to read… I was in a horrible reading slump after reading one book that I finished on the 4th of July (because it was so good!) and I just couldn’t get into this! I ended up finishing it on the ride to YALC though and did like it in the end. (I gave it a 3 stars)

  • Boot Camp by Robert Muchamore

boot-camp

This book took me about three weeks to read but in this case it wasn’t a reading slump – I just wasn’t really enjoying the book. I was still under the impression that I had to finish every book I started and although I no longer think that to be true all of the time I still like to finish books. Either way I did finish this book but it did take me forever.

 

  • The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

the-bone-season

This book has a lot of world building and customs in it and to be honest that’s what slowed me down the most while reading this. There was so much information in the writing that you constantly had to be taking in and I just couldn’t keep up with it which ended in me having to re-read whole chapters to actually understand what was going on. It was still an interesting read though.

  • Inheritance by Christopher Paolini

inheritance

I actually really enjoyed this book but it took me over a month to read. In this case however it was because I attempted to read an 800+ page book at the age of 9/10 which I did succeed in but not without a lot of late nights and forgotten chores!

  • Winter by Marissa Meyer

winter

This book was amazing but still took me over two weeks to finish! It’s about 850 pages if I remember correctly and as a paperback it’s huge! Honestly though I have a lot of respect for Marissa being able to uphold her amazing writing style and plot throughout such a huge book!

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesdays – Books That Took You The Longest To Finish Them

Leave a Reply

