The Hammer of Thor I Review #36

“Should I get you a shovel, so you can dig that hole deeper?”

magnus-chase-and-the-hammer-of-thor

the-hammer-of-thor

Title: The Hammer of Thor

Author: Rick Riordan

Pages: 480

Publisher: Disney Hyperion

 

OFFICIAL SYNOPSIS

Thor’s hammer is missing again. The thunder-god has a disturbing habit of misplacing his weapon–the mightiest force in the Nine Worlds. But this time the hammer isn’t just lost, it has fallen into enemy hands. If Magnus Chase and his friends can’t retrieve the hammer quickly, the mortal worlds will be defenseless against an onslaught of giants. Ragnarok will begin. The Nine Worlds will burn. Unfortunately, the only person who can broker a deal for the hammer’s return is the gods’ worst enemy, Loki–and the price he wants is very high.

REVIEW

Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor is the sequel to The Sword of Summer – and trust me this book took the complete opposite route to what seems to be the stereotype for sequels in a series!

To be completely honest a lot of readers familiar with Rick Riordan know that his writing somehow manages to create the perfect mix and equilibrium between humour, action and adventure; and this book is another perfect example of that!

This book was filled to the brim with adrenaline and mystery; especially with Loki involved there were a lot of twists and turns which I admit confused me at times but otherwise provided for a fun and entertaining plot line.

Another thing that really intrigues me about this series is the beautiful diversity in it. Riordan has never been one to stick to tropes and not branch out but in this book he out did himself. With the introduction of a gender fluid character ( this made me so happy!) to join Magnus and Sam (who also wears a hijab) I couldn’t help but smile because it’s books like these that manage to educate while simultaneously making people laugh because I can assure you I laughed one too many times throughout this book!

Overall I really enjoyed this book and honestly can’t wait for the next one. I have no idea what’s going to happen next especially with that ending – I mean Loki really can be an annoying trickster but that just adds more for the sequel to explore!

 

2 thoughts on “The Hammer of Thor I Review #36

Leave a Reply

