Top 5 Wednesdays – Fave Spooky Settings

4-october-2016

It’s Wednesday again which means this is when I bring you guys the Top 5 Wednesdays, created by gingerreadslainey. You can find out more about these days on the Goodreads group by clicking here! I love spooky settings so this should be fun!

  • Alexander – 78V from Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

illuminae

Towards the last 100/150 pages of Illuminae the Alexander would have probably been one of the most terrifying places to be. The people on the ship were scary enough without adding in an insane AI and the fact they were in space.

  • FAYZ (Fallout Alley Youth Zone) from Gone Series by Michael Grant

gone

As much as everyone would like to believe that a world without adults would basically be the optimum situation to be in – a lot of the events in this book completely made me rethink my opinions on that. Although yes it would be fun – it isn’t fun if you have no idea how to cultivate food properly or run electricity power plants – it’s even worse when there are mutated monsters everywhere and you’re stuck inside a huge dome.

  • Black London from A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E.Schwab

a-darker-shade-of-magic

Of all four Londons – Black is by far the most terrifying. It’s not even generally scary it’s the fact that no one really knows what’s in there and how it’s fared after literally being eaten away by magic…

  • England from More Than This by Patrick Ness

more-than-this

Just to clarify I don’t think the setting for this book was ever specified apart from being in England so that’s the name I had to go for. But the fact that the main character thought he knew this place so well only to have it turned on him and find it to be completely barren and abandoned… well I think I’d find that pretty spooky!

  • Knockturn Alley from Harry Potter by J.K.Rowling

deathly-hallows

I don’t think  necessarily think this is still a spooky place but when I first read about Knockturn alley (I was about 8) I was absolutely and utterly terrified. I was so scared by the weird woman selling nails and all the unusual items in Borgin and Burkes!

Leave a Reply

