Halloween Reading Recs!

I know this is going to sound extremely weird but I’m not actually one to celebrate Halloween! I’ve never done it and don’t really understand the point but that doesn’t stop me from trying to read spooky books nearer to the day! It’s also my mum’s birthday which is probably the main reason I don’t dress up or trick or treat – otherwise I’d miss out on her birthday celebrations! (Because what would Halloween be without some proper ghost stories?)

Halloween Reads 1.png

  1. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness – This book is about a young boy who keeps getting visited by a monster in the simplest of terms. In better terms I think that what makes this story so beautiful yet still able to keep you on edge is the terrifying realism the monster talks about. He spends his time scaring this young boy while simultanesuoly trying to teach him to come to terms with all of th pain and fear living inside of him and honestly this book is so raw and real I cried multiple times while reading it… Also the movie comes out soon so that would be a nice treat after you finish the book!
  2. The Accident Season by Moira Fowley Doyle – I’ve read the first chapter of this book and loved what I read. The Accident Season is centered around a family which suffers a month of sometimes heavily injuring – accidents. For them Halloween is a curse and something to be cautious around because one foot out of line and they could probably find themselves on their way to the A&E. They’ve sort of gotten used to it but it seems that Halloween just doesn’t want to give them any chances of survival this time around!
  3. Peter and the Starcatchers by Dave Barry & Ridley Pearson – At the age of 9 this dark twist on Peter Pan and Neverland absolutely terrified me. I don’t have a perfect memory of the happenings in this book but I think the fact that ‘Captain Hook’ has to lift a fake wooden nose to smell because his original nose is seemingly non existent should be warning enough…
  4. Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs – This compilation of quirky and unusual (sometimes just plain weird) is a companion novel to the Miss Peregrine’s Series. Filled to the brim with Fairy Tales like no others there are scenes in this book that will make you both want to shudder with disgust or laugh your head off. I’ve honestly never read anything like this and feel like this would be an amazing way to finish any night of trick or treating! My review should also be up for this by the time this post is published so you should check that out because I’ll go much more into depth than I am able to here!

Do you have any spooky Halloween recs?

I hope you have a fun time Trick or Treating!

Image result for pumpkin dance gif

Leave a Reply

