Reading Recs : Fantasy

fantasy

I thought I’d start a new series called “An Ink Utopia’s Reading Recs” which will basically be a post every month showcasing my favourite reads from a certain genre or theme! They won’t be in any particular order; just generally whichever ones come to mind first!

This month’s theme is : Fantasy

Fantasy is by far one of my favourite genres to read and write in – it allows for such a wide variety of possibilities and plot lines; there’s literally nothing you can’t do with Fantasy in my opinion! The books in this post are Fantasy books that I have felt had an original story and made the adrenaline pump through my veins!

a-darker-shade-of-magic

Although this isn’t YA this is one of my favourite Fantasy novels of all time. If I had to rate this on a scale of all of my favourite books this would be first. This book takes a place I find really boring (London) and makes it into a world full of magic – although that may be the opposite in some other places because guess what? There are FOUR Londons! Elemental magic, illegal smuggling and pirates – this book has it all and so much more.

throne-of-glass

The Throne of Glass series is by no means a High Fantasy book – but that doesn’t take away from the amount of detail and originality that Maas has managed to pump into her writing. The main character is an assassin which I love – if you’re looking for a Fantasy book with a strong female lead this is certainly a book to add to your TBR!

the-young-elites

I loved Marie Lu’s Legend series which was a Dystopian series so when I heard she was coming out with a fantasy series I was so excited! Now I’ve read the first two books and the last book has just come out – and honestly they’re amazing! So much fun to read and such a wide variety of characters and plot lines to enjoy!

shadow-and-bone_hi-res-677x1024

If you’re looking for a fantasy book with a great antagonist then this series is for you because no one can resist the Darkling. This series is home to such a magical world and magic system and it helps a lot that the characters are just as magical and unique.

So these are some of my favourite fantasy reads! Are there any you’d like to recommend me?

If you read any of these or add them to you TBR be sure to tell me so we can discuss!

Hope your next read is great!

 

3 thoughts on “Reading Recs : Fantasy

Leave a Reply

