The Midnight Star I Review #40

“After a lifetime of darkness, I want to leave something behind that is made of light.”

the-midnight-starthe-midnight-star

Title: The Midnight Star

Author: Marie Lu

Pages: 336

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd UK

OFFICIAL SYNOPSIS

The thrilling finale to the New York Times bestselling Young Elites series from Marie Lu.

There was once a time when darkness shrouded the world, and the darkness had a queen.

Adelina Amouteru is done suffering. She’s turned her back on those who have betrayed her and achieved the ultimate revenge: victory. Her reign as the White Wolf has been a triumphant one, but the darkness within her has begun to spiral out of control, threatening to destroy everything.

When a new danger appears, Adelina must join the Daggers on a perilous quest in order to save herself and preserve her empire. But this uneasy alliance may prove to be the real danger…

REVIEW

I AM SHOOK.

I didn’t expect anything other than 5 stars from this book and despite my ridiculously high expectations for it – I am not disappointed whatsoever.

The Midnight Star is the third book in the “Young Elites” series – a series centered around an anti-hero in a world where people with powers are shunned and hated.

This is completely and utterly, without a doubt, one of the best endings I have ever read. I don’t think I really smiled at all throughout this book until I got to the very last chapter – and honestly I think that’s what made it so good.

I can’t go into too much detail without spoiling because it is the third book in a series but I can thoroughly explain just how much I loved this. The Midnight Star was the opposite of every trope I hate in a book – I don’t think there was even one. The whole concept of having ‘magical powers’ had a completely different perspective in this book; and it was one that I enjoyed so much to read about.

The characters, especially Adelina, were so well thought out and unique and individual it was so refreshing to read such well written characters as it feels like I haven’t for a while. I’ve read some reviews where people have commented on the fact that Adelina doesn’t have a character arc. She stays unforgiving and evil for too long – and most people instinctively choose to route for the good side and that certainly wasn’t Adelina. But that was the whole pont of this book to me; it wasn’t about redeeming her actions or learning to change her ways; it was taking what she had been given and learning to deal with it, it was about forgiveness, it was never and still isn’t about redeeming herself. It just wasn’t the point.

In short this was a phenomenal conclusion to a phenomenal series.

2 thoughts on “The Midnight Star I Review #40

Leave a Reply

