Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them I Review #42

“My philosophy is that worrying means you suffer twice.”

fantastic-beasts-and-where-to-find-themfantastic-beasts-and-where-to-find-them

Title: Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them (Screenplay)

Author: J.K.Rowling

Pages: 304

Publisher: Little Brown Book Group

OFFICIAL SYNOPSIS

When Magizoologist Newt Scamander arrives in New York, he intends his stay to be just a brief stopover. However, when his magical case is misplaced and some of Newt’s fantastic beasts escape, it spells trouble for everyone…

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them marks the screenwriting debut of J.K. Rowling, author of the beloved and internationally bestselling Harry Potter books. Featuring a cast of remarkable characters, this is epic, adventure-packed storytelling at its very best.

Whether an existing fan or new to the wizarding world, this is a perfect addition to any reader’s bookshelf.

REVIEW

So as any of you who follow my blog may know I absolutely and utterly loved this movie. I thought the story was phenomenal, the acting flawless, and of course, most importantly I found it to be extremely enjoyable! As soon as I finished watching this movie in the cinema I went home and finished Library of Souls as fast as possible so that I could start reading the Original Script edition.

I admit I’m always hesitant about reading scripts because a lot of the time, characters from a script are transformed by their actors and the scenes around them – but I really did not have this issue here. Of course, the lack of visual imagery was slightly unusual seeing as Fantastic Beasts was a movie first – however I found there to be amazingly illustrated images at the beginning of each ‘chapter’ by MinaLima which were all extremely pretty!

I could still feel and connect with the characters in the script almost as much as in the film. They still had their personalities and I didn’t seem alienated by the unusual layout as someone who rarely reads scripts. It was interesting to see the differing stage directions and language; which thankfully were provided with a glossary at the back to explain them all!

Overall, I honestly cannot wait for the upcoming movies and to see what else J.K.Rowling will do with this phenomenal world! (Also maybe hoping for a novel edition one day as well!)

 

One thought on “Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them I Review #42

Leave a Reply

