Best Releases of 2016!

These are the top 7 books that I read and were released in 2016!

  • The Midnight Star by Marie Lu (Review)

the-midnight-star

Honestly one of the best endings to a trilogy that I have EVER read in my life! If you haven’t read the first book – The Young Elites – you really should get onto that!

  • Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas (Review)

empire-of-thrones-us

I cannot wait for the next book to come out! I came into this book with stupidly high expectations and literally all of them were met! Continuous action on every page, and ends on one of the worst cliffhangers I have ever read!

  • This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab (Review)

this-savage-song

I got this book signed twice this year! Obviously, that didn’t affect the writing at all, but it didn’t have to because this story is phenomenal! Also, there is no romance which is great because sometimes the boy meets girl dynamic gets so tiring in YA!

  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas (Review)

a-court-of-mist-and-fury

The second Sarah J Maas book on this list because, yes, her writing is just that good. I can’t decide if this was better than Empire of Storms or not but either way just know that all of Sarah’s writing is amazing!

  • A Gathering of Shadows by V.E.Schwab 

a-gathering-of-shadows

Another author that has been repeated twice on this list! I honestly don’t understand how these amazing writers are able to put out two equally amazing books a year – because trust me this sequel was amazing!

  • Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys (Review)

salt-to-the-sea

This book was so sad and the writing was so beautiful – I just cried a lot while reading this… The premise (set during the world war) was already sad enough but the way that Sepetys wrote her characters made it seem so much more real and sad. Seriously you should add this to your TBR!

  • Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan (Review)

magnus-chase-and-the-hammer-of-thor

Rick Riordan has diversity nailed. Honestly, I never thought I’d read a book where a Muslim girl was a main character until I picked this up! In this book, a transgender non-binary character is also introduced and honestly they’re one of my favourite characters in this series so far!

All of these books are phenomenal – and if you plan to read them soon, have read them, or they’re on your TBR tell me so we can discuss them!

Hope your next read is great! 🌱

Leave a Reply

