Not If I See You First I Review #49

“Seeing is not believing.”

not-if-i-see-you-firstnot-if-i-see-you-first

Title: Not If I See You First

Author: Eric Lindstrom

Pages: 416

Publisher: Harper Collins Children’s Books

OFFICIAL SYNOPSIS

The sensational debut YA of 2016 that everyone will be talking about.

Parker Grant doesn’t need perfect vision to see right through you. That’s why she created the Rules: Don’t treat her any differently just because she’s blind, and never take advantage. There will be no second chances.

When Scott Kilpatrick, the boy who broke her heart, suddenly reappears at school, Parker knows there’s only one way to react – shun him so hard it hurts. She has enough to deal with already, like trying out for the track team, handing out tough-love advice to her painfully naive classmates, and giving herself gold stars for every day she hasn’t cried since her dad’s death. But avoiding her past quickly proves impossible, and the more Parker learns about what really happened – both with Scott, and her dad – the more she starts to question if things are always as they seem.

Not If I See You First illuminates those blind spots that we all have in life, whether visually impaired or not.

 

REVIEW

I think I’m in love. This book was phenomenal!

Not If I See You First is a book about a girl called Parker, who is blind and cannot see any light at all (which is fairly rare), as she goes through her day to day life at high school.

I admit going into this I was hesitant. I was worried I would go into this book and come out having read something that was ableist and stereotypical – but let me tell you this is anything but that.

While reading some reviews of this novel I think the main thing that stood out to me was that a lot of people were finding Parker unlikeable as the main character, and I can see why. She could be rude, was hardly the most understanding person and was extremely blunt a lot of the time. But I think that’s what left me loving her so much. She was dependent upon no one else, apart from when she deemed herself needing of it. Her “rules” let her take control of her life and didn’t portray her as weak or insecure in her abilities. She was anything but that! Her personality and attitude were what I would find to be realistic and accurate to a teenager – not everyone can always be nice.

I will admit I did expect a lot more romance in this from the way that the blurb was written. The whole aspect of someone coming back into her life after leaving and all of that stuff did make it feel like there would be a lot more romance than there was. Despite the lack of romance, I did still extremely enjoy the relationships in this book, the small doses of romance along the way were cute and heartfelt (albeit more so towards the end).

However, what I thought stood out to me most in this book was the friendships. The love between the characters in this book was so lovely to read about – and was a good replacement for the lack of romantic relationships. Although, I would have loved to see more of D.B. because he was hilarious!

Overall, I think that this book is a book that everyone should honestly get to reading. I think that if people can get around Parker’s personality, and understand that it is actually pretty realistic a lot more people would love and enjoy this book!

 

Leave a Reply

