Reading Recs: Mental Illness

 

mental-healthThis month’s theme is: Mental Illness

I think that Mental Illness in YA is one of the most important things that is currently extremely lacking in the books that I find to read. As someone who suffers from Mental Illnesses, and has been for a few years. It can be really sad to find yourself completely un-represented in the books you read – but thankfully, that’s improving! Onto the books!

the-rest-of-us-just-live-here

The MC in this book has OCD – and personally, I prefer to read ‘own voice’ novels as they seem more probable to be accurate and realistic, and in this case, Patrick Ness (one of my favourite authors) does have OCD. Another one of the smaller MC’s is also recovering from anorexia. This is honestly a great book and one that I think everyone should read, or at least add to their TBR list.

more-happy-than-not

This book was amazing. This is again another own voice novel, and honestly, while reading this I saw myself so much in the main character and I cried and laughed so much throughout. This book is honestly so amazing and I can’t wait for Adam Silver’s next book to come out in February!

all-the-bright-places

I’ve seen a lot of people criticise this book for “romanticising” however, in this case, I am going to have to disagree. While reading this I did not see Finch having depression and then getting together with Violet as “romanticising” – having any sort of mental illness does not deprive you of being able to get into a functional relationship. I loved this book so much and it will continue to be one of my favourites!

fans-of-the-impossible-life

The thing I loved most about this book was the repetition of the fact that you never get better straight away. Despite the fact that the main character’s family are happy to help her and accept her fully – that doesn’t mean that she gets better right away, they seem to be trying the best they can but in all the wrong ways. Her family were well intentioned but uneducated in the needs of their child – which is somethign I have never seen in a book.

If you have any books that you feel portray mental illness accurately and well – please let me know! It would honestly be even better if they were own voice novels, or with more diverse main characters! Have you read any of these? Did you enjoy them?

Hope your next read is great! 🌱

3 thoughts on “Reading Recs: Mental Illness

  1. Megan @ bookslayerReads says:

    Thanks for the recommendations! Since I have OCD myself, I should definitely read The Rest of Us Just Live Here. It’s on my TBR, but I wasn’t aware that it dealt with OCD. Can’t believe I didn’t know that! And More Happy Than Not is on my list to read next. I’ll be adding the others to my TBR as well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

