Six of Crows I Review #51

“No Mourners. No Funerals.”

six-of-crows

six-of-crows

Title: Six of Crows

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Pages: 465

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

OFFICIAL SYNOPSIS

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

REVIEW

If I could give this book more than 5 stars I certainly would in a heartbeat.

Six of Crows follows a group of six as they try to break into one of the strongest places in the world. I cannot express how phenomenal this book was – it had amazing characters, amazing plot and amazing representation.

After finishing the Grisha trilogy about two years ago I was excited for another story in that world. I loved the world of Ravka, but when I started reading this and found myself in a completely different place I knew I was going to love this so much more than I thought. Somehow, Leigh Bardugo has managed to take an already extremely well developed and detailed world, and expand and develop on that to make it so much more.

The streets of Ketterdam were dark and eerie and probably not somewhere I’d like to be and that’s exactly what I would expect from a book about a bunch of (mostly) criminals.

The story and plot were a lot darker than I expected. Somehow throughout the multiple points of views, I was still able to pick up on the twisted and saddening backstories to each and every character. They all had their reasons for being who they were and managed to all uphold unique personalities and quirks throughout.

The plot was fast paced, exciting and had my heart racing. I didn’t expect any of the (amazing) twists throughout, and the ingenuity of the writing and story, in general, was amazing.

There was romance, but it never really took over the story. It came up at all the right times and to be honest was clearly not a priority throughout.

I’d also just like to comment on the fact that the diverse representation in this book brought a smile to my face. The main character, Kaz, has chronic pain and occasionally uses a cane, similarly to the author Leigh Bardugo. 2 out of the 6 main characters aren’t straight; and the people of colour are strong and independent and (for once in a fantasy novel) not labeled as the “savage” and “violent” races.

I just really really loved this book and I can’t believe I waited this long to read it! This was a dark and poignant fantasy novel, filled with twists and turns and adrenaline; and one that I certainly won’t be forgetting anytime soon.

Hope your next read is great! 🌱

2 thoughts on “Six of Crows I Review #51

Leave a Reply

