The Bad Beginning I Review #53

“I don’t know if you’ve ever noticed this, but first impressions are often entirely wrong.”

the-bad-beginning

the-bad-beginning

Title: The Bad Beginning

Author: Lemony Snicket

Pages: 176

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

 

OFFICIAL SYNOPSIS

Dear Reader,

I’m sorry to say that the book you are holding in your hands is extremely unpleasant. It tells an unhappy tale about three very unlucky children. Even though they are charming and clever, the Baudelaire siblings lead lives filled with misery and woe. From the very first page of this book when the children are at the beach and receive terrible news, continuing on through the entire story, disaster lurks at their heels. One might say they are magnets for misfortune.

In this short book alone, the three youngsters encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune, and cold porridge for breakfast.

It is my sad duty to write down these unpleasant tales, but there is nothing stopping you from putting this book down at once and reading something happy, if you prefer that sort of thing.

With all due respect,
Lemony Snicket

 

REVIEW

These books were my childhood. I binge watched the TV show in a day two weeks ago and I knew I had to re-read these as soon as I had finished.

As I’m sure many of you can tell The Bad Beginning is the first book in a series of unfortunate events. This series is an unusually dark take on three children’s’ lives and all of the hardship and trouble they deal with throughout.

I think I’m able to appreciate this series a lot more now that I’m a little older (about 5/6 years older). My take on the main plot point of this book, the Marvellous Marriage, was a lot more twisted and creepy than I remember. The idea of a fully grown man manipulating the law to marry a child is so much scarier now I actually understand what that means.

I have to say that my love for the three Baudelaires, though, has stayed pretty much the same. I loved the originality and quirkiness of all the characters as a young girl and I still do now. They are by far some of my favourite siblings to read about.

There’s also something about Lemony’s writing that brings something completely different to this story. The pessimism and bluntness of the narrator; the random definitions throughout; and the commentary throughout are all things I feel wouldn’t have been written as well if they were written by anyone else.

This is completely and utterly a great book to read at any age, and certainly a book which is 100% one of a kind.

HOPE YOUR NEXT READ IS GREAT!🌱

Leave a Reply

