Get To Know Me!

20 Bookish Facts About Me.png

  1. I am currently in the possession of 175 books! I’ve been collecting most of these since the age of about 11 – although I didn’t even hit 100 books until about two years ago!
  2. I started reading YA around the age of 11! I think my first YA book was the Hunger Games which my best friend at the time lent me – although I’d read the Percy Jackson books before that, they’re technically middle grade!
  3. It usually takes me about a week on average to finish an average YA book (so around 400 pages). Although if I really love a book*; I can read it in one sitting. Likewise, if I really hate it I can take forever to read a book.
  4. I did actually grow up reading Harry Potter. Also, Narnia and a Series of Unfortunate Events! Seriously, I don’t understand how more people have NOT read these series!
  5. I love book signings! I love attending any sort of bookish events – I attended YALC 2016 and am hoping to go in 2017 although I’m not sure how likely that is to happen. There aren’t a lot of signings near me and when they do happen I’m always conveniently out of town! (an accurate representation of me every time this happens is below)

Image result for frustrated gif

  1. I get in reading slumps all of the time! I really do, I get in a reading slump at least once a year (sometimes twice) but it’s never for a few days! The minimum is usually a few WEEKS! In 2016 I had a proper slump in July where I literally read no books apart from the Cursed Child and didn’t read again until mid-August
  2. I love Bookstagram and taking photos! Honestly, Bookstagram is such a lovely community and I love taking pretty pictures! I wish I had more skill at it to be completely honest; one day I hope my pictures actually look nice – but in the meantime, I can enjoy!
  3. V.E.Schwab reblogged one of my pictures! When this happened I nearly cried from happiness! She’s one of my favourite authors and I was so happy she liked my picture of her books!
  4. Reviews are actually really fun to write for me! I love making my feelings known about a particular book that I’ve just read! Whether I loved or really disliked a book – writing reviews are still as fun!
  5. Why don’t more people use Goodreads? More of an inner thought than a fact but Goodreads is my holy saviour. Seriously, I love being organised but I love it even more when there’s already a system to help me with it!

Image result for organized gif

  1. Fantasy is my favourite genre. I do read a variety of genres – but anything other than maybe sci-fi makes me feel the same as fantasy. I love the feeling of reading a completely different world and discovering new places and new types of people!
  2. I completely judge books by their covers. Come on, a pretty cover is going to look a lot better to me than some bland cover. I know that authors can’t control their covers but I won’t lie in saying that I can be put off by bad covers.
  3. I’ve never tried an audiobook. Are they any good? I’ve honestly never tried them and I’m not sure if I really want to… I’m hesitant about trying out a new medium but I feel like I may enjoy the convenience?
  4. I don’t dog ear. I don’t care if someone does it to their own books. Just not mine, please!
  5. I can read while travelling! Some of my friends never read while on the train, on a bus or in the car because they say it makes them dizzy – but I’m happy to say I don’t feel it at all!

Image result for losers gif

  1. I carry a book nearly everywhere. I literally have a pocket in my backpack designated to holding a book!
  2. Talking of my backpack – being a fan of loads of things is such a pain when it comes to backpacks! I like to have a backpack that says something about me so I always have a bag based on something I love at the moment. But I’ve never had a book based bag! My last bag was a Sword Art Online one and now I have a Haikyuu backpack!
  3. I actually love book adaptions…When they’re done well. I still have yet to meet an adaptation that was better than the book but that doesn’t mean I didn’t like the adaptation!
  4. I have loads of bookmarks! But I use about three of them regularly… I don’t know why I prefer to memorise the page number that I left on than use a bookmark like a normal person…
  5. I really love books… I’m not sure if that’s obvious yet but I honestly love them more than most other things!

Image result for book loving gif

3 thoughts on “Get To Know Me!

Leave a Reply

