Reading Recs: Middle Grade

 

Middle Grade.pngThis month’s theme is: Middle Grade!

I don’t read a lot of Middle Grade at all – I find it a lot easier to relate to YA, but that doesn’t mean I don’t love the books I have read of this age group. Middle-Grade novels tend to be a lot less serious and a lot more funny which can be just what I need sometimes.

the-lightning-thief

If anyone were to ask me who the best middle grade writer was I would 100% say, Rick Riordan. He has written so many of my favourite books – and none of them has ever failed to put a smile on my face and make me laugh. Also, his diversity in all of his series is really well done and something else that I love about all of his books.

the-school-for-good-and-evil

At the moment I think that there are 3 books released in this series. I’ve read the first two books and loved them! This book takes overused cliches and makes them into something new, original and unique.

the-bad-beginning

This was one of my favourite series growing up and I’ve started re-reading them this year! There’s actually a Netflix TV show at the moment and it’s so good! Once you’ve finished reading this amazing series you can spend a little longer in this phenomenal world by watching that!

wonder

Wonder is a touching and poignant book about a young boy with a facial deformity. This book is unusually on the sadder side of things for a middle grade, which are usually a lot more light hearted. But this book gives across an extremely important message and is a book I think a lot of people should read.

IF YOU HAVE ANY BOOKS THAT YOU FEEL PORTRAY MENTAL ILLNESS ACCURATELY AND WELL – PLEASE LET ME KNOW! IT WOULD HONESTLY BE EVEN BETTER IF THEY WERE OWN VOICE NOVELS, OR WITH MORE DIVERSE MAIN CHARACTERS! HAVE YOU READ ANY OF THESE? DID YOU ENJOY THEM?

HOPE YOUR NEXT READ IS GREAT! 🌱

7 thoughts on “Reading Recs: Middle Grade

  1. Angelica (TheBookCoverGirls) says:

    Great recommendations! I have been meaning to read The School for Good and Evil for such a long time now. I hear so many good things about it. I also want to read A Series of Unfortunate Events now that the TV series is out. I should definitely get more into Middle Grade, there are so may good, underrated books there.

    Like

  2. Huntress of Diverse Books says:

    I was totally into Percy Jackson when I was younger – I am such a fan of books based on mythology. I’ve been feeling nostalgic about Percy Jackson and actually got The Lightning Thief. I’m really looking forward to reading it again.

    I remember really enjoying A Series of Unfortunate Events but I didn’t completely finish it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

