Top 5 Wednesdays – Books You Felt Betrayed By

9. March 2017It’s Wednesday again which means this is when I bring you guys the Top 5 Wednesdays, created by gingerreadslainey. You can find out more about these days on the Goodreads group by clicking here! This is going to be a top 3 because I can’t really think of any more!

  • Shtum by Jem Lester

Shtum

I went into this book not really expecting it to be a very deep or heavy read – let me tell you, it was anything but that. It was (surprisingly) from an adult’s point of view and therefore gave a very different insight of the story compared to what I was expecting.

  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Carry On

As I read this before I had read Fangirl I didn’t get that connection and went into this thinking it was going to be some sort of high fantasy. I was disappointed to find it wasn’t, to begin with, but once I finally understood the concept of the story I felt a lot less betrayed!

  • Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor

I went into this series expecting another middle-grade mythology retelling from Riordan – my friends say that it was advertised as a YA novel but I did not know that! So when I finished this and realised that well… the general feeling to the book was very different to his other books I wasn’t very surprised to find that this was not, in fact, another middle-grade story but young adult! (Yes I know that’s the cover to the second book but I couldn’t be bothered to find the cover to the first!)

Leave a Reply

