I Promise It’s Not Hard!

How To Read More Diversely.png

Just read more diversely.

Okay, I make it sound easy – and that’s because it is. I promise I’m not trying to sound patronising or anything, but I just wanted to address something that I see a lot around the bookish community (which is a lovely community by the way!)

There’s this mentality that I see a lot that finding something diverse to read is hard, or that you have to go out of your way to do it.  I promise, the way I see it at least, it’s not like that at all.

I’ve been reading a lot more diversely than before nowadays. When I sat down and told myself I was going to do that I thought it was going to be hard. I enjoyed all of those mainstream, hugely advertised books and it had never occurred to me that the diversity in a lot of the books I read was a little lax. And there’s nothing wrong with reading those books at all! I still do! By no means am I saying it is wrong to enjoy a book with a lack of diversity – but I guarantee you there’s probably an equally amazing diverse book out there.

For me the things that did help to push me along, to begin with, were probably:

  • Google! Although a lot of my searches for specific things were fruitless I was still able to find a lot!
  • Finding some diverse book blogs – my favourite blog at the moment, in general, is The Book Avid, she is an amazing reviewer and has really good recommendations.
  • Using social media to my advantage – this was unexpectedly helpful! I was struggling to find a book where the MC is also a wheelchair user but also had a plotline that intrigued me. After posting about it (I think on Instagram) I finally found a book which I plan on reading soon!
  • Taking part in events like #DiversityBing2017 and Read Diverse 2017 they’re honestly great for motivation!
  • Not reading books just for the diversity. I did this a few times and ended up disliking the books and I gave them pretty low ratings, which doesn’t help to support marginalised authors at all. Please make sure you’re actually interested in the plot as well! 
  • Looking for books with both diverse MC’s and authors!

So, those were a few things I did to improve the diversity in the books I read! I’m also aiming for 75% of the books I read this year to have at least 1 character or aspect of diversity in them – and soon I’ll be going for 100%!

Do you have any favourite diverse reads? Do you have any more tips?

Hope your next read is great! 🌱

10 thoughts on “I Promise It’s Not Hard!

  1. Megan @ bookslayerReads says:

    I’m reading a lot more diversely now, than I was a few months ago. But when I wasn’t reading very diversely, it wasn’t specifically by choice. I just grabbed whatever looked good and read it! And they just happened to not be too diverse. But there are diverse books all around now, and I love it. I have been given so many great recommendations! And I think reading diversely is very important. This is a good post 😊

    Like

  2. booksthatbloom says:

    One of my resolutions for 2017 was to read more diversely. Even just by setting that goal and being much more aware of the media I’m consuming I’ve found my read and TBR lists are so much more diverse both in terms of authors, characters and subject matter. After all, the main reason I love reading is because it allows me to learn about experiences I’d otherwise be ignorant to and how can I do that if I only read books by straight, cis, white, able bodied british people?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

