Simon vs the Homo-Sapiens Agenda I Review #60

“People really are like house with vast rooms and tiny windows. And maybe it’s a good thing, the way we never stop surprising each other.”

Simon vs the Homo-Sapiens Agenda

Simon vs the Homo-Sapiens Agenda

Title: Simon vs the Homo-Sapiens Agenda

Author: Becky Albertalli

Pages: 303

Publisher: Penguin

 

OFFICIAL SYNOPSIS

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

REVIEW

I really am not the biggest reader of contemporary books. Usually reading about a lovesick teen in high school just reminds me of all the drama that currently goes on in my school and inevitably just frustrates me. But honestly, this book was the epitome of cute! (Someone please rec me a similar book with f/f romance!)

I read this book in the early hours of the morning at the beginning of my exam week. I started it at midnight and finished it at 3 am; let me tell you, I was still wide awake by the end of it. If this had been any other day I would’ve probably stayed up that early out of anxiety for the Latin test I was having in about 7 hours but this book just made me so happy!

Simon vs is a book about two boys who email each other anonymously. They both know they go to the same school, are in the same year and that they’re both gay -and that’s it. Nothing else. I really enjoyed the fact that there was no physical aspect to it? Whenever I am reading a romance novel there always seems to be so much time wasted on physical appearances and it was refreshing to see two people fall in love with each others’ personalities.

It was also nice to see two supportive families for their children coming out. Of course, that’s not always the case and I sure as hell know that. I know I’ll never be able to come out to my family – but it was nice to read a positive coming out experience.

The character arcs were something I also really enjoyed; Simon learned a lot about both himself and the people around him as the story progressed. I think the inclusion of the emails really gave a different insight into Simon as a character and is probably one of the reasons this book was so good. As a teen myself it’s so much easier to be me over social media, or in this case emails, so you got to see a more in-depth version of Simon.

I just really enjoyed this book honestly. We need more diverse cute contemporaries because (especially in LGBTQ+ YA) the sad stories can sometimes be all I can find to read and sometimes I just want to feel that inkling of hope. Just sometimes.

HOPE YOUR NEXT READ IS GREAT! 🌱