The Sky is Everywhere I Review #61

“The sky is everywhere, it begins at your feet.”

The Sky is Everywhere

The Sky is Everywhere

Title: The Sky is Everywhere

Author: Jandy Nelson

Pages: 320

Publisher: Walker Books

 

OFFICIAL SYNOPSIS

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey.

But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to centre stage of her own life – and suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two boys. One boy takes Lennie out of her sorrow; the other comforts her in it. But the two can’t collide without Lennie’s world exploding…

REVIEW

The Sky Is Everywhere is a novel about a girl whose sister passes away, who also happens to be obsessed with poetry; and the ‘new hot guy at school’. I initially went into this with probably average expectations. I was in a contemporary reading mood and had seen so many people read and love this story, but I also sat there praying and hoping it that it wasn’t another cliche story about some girl and how she gets with the new guy – because at this point I’ve read so many of those it gets tiring. Of course, that’s exactly what I found this book to be.

I will admit that despite the cliche and predictable romance – there was some good in the realism and grief you could feel through Lennie’s characters. But everything else, plot and character wise I found myself extremely disliking.

Lennie is the definition of a character trying too hard to be ‘different’; of course, people are different but she was way too much. I couldn’t stand her throwing poetry everywhere, her grandmother was really weird and as soon as she saw the ‘new guy at school’ fell in love with him. Of course, a few chapters later he was in love with her as well.

I also found myself really struggling with the lack of no plot. Some books can pull off not having a solid plot-line (one of my favourite books is one), but this book felt like it was going somewhere plot wise but in the end, there was nothing. The main ‘plot twist’ was predictable and annoying to me.

I did love the writing for the most part though. If anything Jandy Nelson is a phenomenal writer. I loved I’ll Give You the Sun and I’m so disappointed that I didn’t love this as well. But to each their own! I’m not saying this is a bad novel – I can see why so many people liked it, it just wasn’t for me.

HOPE YOUR NEXT READ IS GREAT! 🌱

Leave a Reply

